They can do that whenever I include any tags at all.
They could google search the exact post, too.
Any time I share anyone’s content it’s possible for someone who is dedicated to finding that person to do so.
Removing the username doesn’t stop people from being able to find them. It’s just a courtesy, and it makes it less likely for anyone to bother to go find them.
Harry Osborn is having a bad day. Holding back his dad from getting into a physical altercation with a mouthy teenager, and his girlfriend is hitting on his best friend right in front of him.
It’s actually kind of impressive how ill-conceived this whole “Notes Preview” business is. At a single stroke, it’s been rendered impossible to curate one’s experience even on one’s own dashboard – now it doesn’t matter that you’ve carefully followed a group of blogs you can trust not to reblog noxious bullshit, because with every post that crosses your dash there’s now a chance that Tumblr will automatically append some random asshole’s opinion about that post, in a way that neither you nor the person you’re following can predict. Bravo.
In the short time this feature has been live I’ve already been obliged to remove a post from my own blog because I tried to do the “scroll back up the thread and reblog a version without the commentary” thing, only for Tumblr to helpfully display the exact post I was trying to avoid putting on my blog as a notes preview.